Daily life / Random

Rain and Grown Up

I used to be a person loves rain so much, with two reason. First of all, in Chinese Feng Shui, my attribute heavily relies on water, based on the five different elements (metal, wood, water, fire, and rock) in Feng Shui. For this reason, I always believe myself have a very strong bond with water. I especially flavor its flowing or fluidity characteristic. Secondly, it is part of the romantic side of me. Because of my culture and the TV shows I grew up with, rain used to be a must-element of romantic drama. More importantly, I like to get wet too.

However, my perspective on rain has changed recently. I am not saying I do not like it no more. I just simply love it less. In the past year, I become a more outgoing person, not personality-wise, but activity-wise. I start to work, skateboard, even now, chasing Pokémon. All these activities are not rain-friendly. Like today, I drove thirty minutes to downtown just for Pokémon hunting. When I arrived, it rained. I was like, “you have got to be kidding me!” Fortunately, it stopped in an hour. But at that moment, it was really mood killer.

Perhaps, I do not like rain just as everyone. The reason why I loved it so much was that, I didn’t have as many outdoor activities as I am now. Back in the days, I went to school. We were all hoping it was going to rain or maybe even storming. Because the school will cancel, and we have a whole day off. I was quite a self-isolated person. And now, since I extended my social circle, at least larger than it was, my life became more diverse. I met new people, and having good time with them. I started to try new things, including the fruit and seafood that I hated so much. I guess this is what people called grown up, or perhaps part of grown up.

Leave a Reply

