Daily life / Random

Homemade Green Tea Frappucino

I talked about this awesome green tea frappucino drink from Starbucks 4 days ago. It was a huge expense if I was keep buying it. Meanwhile, I really couldn’t resist the urge to drink it. Therefore, I found an alternative. I asked myself, why can’t I just made my own, especially I found that it is super easy to make?

I found a recipe online. Yet, the recipe did not turn out well when I followed the instruction. So, I used it as a baseline of what I should put and how large of the portion I should put.

Since  all I need is to blend them all together, I am not going to write the steps.

JUST BLEND THEM!!~

There is the recipe I found. ~~~

Ingredients:

  • Plenty of ice cubes enough to fill your glass
  • 1 generous scoop of vanilla ice cream
  • 1 dash of pure vanilla extract (1/8 teaspoon)
  • 2 teaspoons of powdered green tea powder (matcha)
  • 1 cup (240ml) of milk
  • 1 heaping tablespoon of granulated sugar
  • Whipped cream, optional
  • 1 tiny pinch of Xanthan gum, optional

source: https://www.matchasecrets.com/the-best-green-tea-frappuccino-recipes/

However, I did some adjustment.

  1.  I would suggest just put 1 measure cup of ice cube.
  2. I skipped/ am not putting vanilla ice cream.
  3. no vanila extract
  4. 2 teaspoons of match stay the same. (you can add more if you want more bitterness tea texture and taste from the matcha)
  5. I use 2 cups of fat free milk. There is no any specification of what type of milk I should use. Since I am going to put whipped cream into the drink, I try to keep it as low calorie as possible, low enough to keep me “healthy” before I tired of it.
  6. sugar is optional since I am putting my whipped cream.
  7. Xanthan gum? I have no idea what it is. It does not sound safe to put in a drink.

20160917_135432

SO~~~ here it is. It looks good, doesn’t it? This is my first try. It didn’t turn out as I expected. First of all, perhaps it was because I was using fat free milk, the texture of the drink was not as good or as smooth as the one I drunk in Starbucks. Secondly, it was not as sweet as I thought it should be, although I put whipped cream on the top. It was okay if I eat it separately, but that was not my intention. Eventually, I figured that I can just blend the whipped cream with the ingredients instead of using it as a topping. It turned out great this time. It tasted as I expected. The fat and sugar from the whipped cream gave what the drink needed, the smoothie texture and the sweetness.

If you ask me, why don’t I take the picture of the successful one? Well, it was too delicious to forget. LOL. I will try to make it up next time, if I remember.

 

Leave a Reply

