Daily life / Random

“僕が死のうと思ったのは” by Mika Nakashima

Today, I was joggling in Youtube (sometime I like to do, watch videos from one related video link to another). I found this song called “僕が死のうと思ったのは” (I want to die), performed by Mika Nakashima (中島美嘉). This is the best foreign song I ever heard after the “eye, lips, nose” performance (see previous post). Music is really a border less . Although I don’t understand Japanese, I was hooked by this song from the very first few rhythms. And when I looked at the translation of the lyrics, I couldn’t help myself to sing along, even then, I have the urge of cry with the song. My voice was shaking. My eye became watery and blurry.

The lyrics of the whole song have lots of metaphor for the sadness and difficulties in life, which is what makes the song so beautiful. It is so imagery.

Without further ado, here is the link:

And…..  Here is the English translation of the lyrics I found online:

The reason why I thought I’d die is because black-tailed gulls chirped on a pier
Appeared and disappeared drifting on the waves, flying away and picking my past as they go
The reason why I thought I’d die is because apricot blossoms bloomed on my birthday
Can I become the soil with dead bugs if I nap under the sunbeams filtering through foliage?Mint candy, lighthouse at a fishing port, rusty arch bridge, abandoned bicycle
In front of a stove at a wooden station house, my heart can’t set out anywhere
Today looks like yesterday, if we wanna change tomorrow we should change today
I know, I know… but…The reason why I thought I’d die is because my heart went blank
The reason why I cry over being unsatisfied is surely because I wanna be satisfied

The reason why I thought I’d die is because the shoelace got undone
I’m not good at connecting things together, the same goes with human relationships
The reason why I thought I’d die is because the boy was gazing at me
I’m getting down on my knees on a bed to apologize to myself on that day

Dim-light of a computer, sounds of life coming from upstairs
Sounds of interphone chimes, boy covering his ears in a birdcage
Don Quixote who’s fighting with an invisible enemy in a six-mat room
Goal must be ugly anyway

The reason why I thought I’d die is because I was called a cold person
The reason why I cry for being loved is because I’ve got to learn the warmth of others

The reason why I thought I’d die is because of your gentle laugh
The reason why I only consider dying is because I am way too serious to live on

The reason why I thought I’d die is because I hadn’t met you yet
I fell in love with this world a little more where people like you were born

I will place my hope in this world a little bit where people like you are alive.

Leave a Reply

